Chairman Award for tech innovation awarded to IIT Kharagpur in IICDC 2017

Chairman Award
The Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur has been awarded the chairman award for Technical Innovation in the Indian Innovation Challenge Design Contest (IICDC) 2017. IIT-Kharagpur was awarded for its Health Management System with integrated charger by Texas Instruments India. In the country’s one of the most popular design contest for engineering students, IIT-Kharagpur was listed on top among the 10 winning teams. The Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology of Bengaluru for its innovation Underwater and Airborne Unmanned Autonomous Vehicle secured the position of First runners-up. The Bhartiya Vidya Bhavan’s Sardar Patel Institute of Technology of Mumbai was judged as the second runners-up for their innovation Health Set. The results were announced at the grand finale held at IIM-Bangalore on 10th August under the presence of Dr Anita Gupta, Adviser and Associate Head, National Science & Technology Entrepreneurship Development Board (NSTEDB) and the Department of Science and Technology of the union government and Dr SD Shibulal, co-founder of Infosys. After several rounds of discussions by a panel of 10 judges, the final 10 winners were selected. The winners will be given a startup seed fund of Rs 3.5 crore by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and a chance to be incubated at N S Raghavan Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning (NSRCEL), the innovation and entrepreneurship hub of IIM Bangalore. Around 15,380 students from 965 colleges took part in this competition and after a rigorous selection process, 30 teams made it to the final. Gunit Singh Chabbra of IIT Kharagpur said it is absolutely thrilling being one of the top 10 winning teams and taking part in IICDC is a once in a lifetime opportunity and students who have a love for technology and want to become entrepreneurs should definitely give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *