UGC: Remove university from names or lose deemed status


The University Grants Commission has asked all the deemed universitiesto drop the word “university” from their names, or lose the deemed tag.

Why Drop “University” From Name

In a letter dated November 10, the University Grants Commission (UGC), has asked 123 Deemed-to-be-Universities to drop the word ‘University’ from their names. The letter cites a Supreme Court order dated November 3, 2017. The court has ruled that the use of word ‘University’ by Deemed-to-be universities is in violation of the Section 23 of the UGC Act.

What Law Says

The Section 23 of the UGC Act, 1956 says, “No institution, whether a corporate body or not, other than a University established or incorporated by or under a Central Ac[ a Provincial Act or a State Act shall be entitled to have the word “University” associated with its name in any manner whatsoever.”

What Supreme Court Directed

— Asked Deemed-to be Universities to stop using the word “University” within one month of the issue of the Court order. 

–No deemed-to-be-university can run open and distant learning courses from the next academic year (2018-19) unless it is permitted to do so by the concerned authorities.

— Directed UGC to take proper steps to implement the Section 23 of the UGC Act, 1956.

Remove university

Prominent Names That No Longer Will Be “Universities”

1. Indian Agricultural Research Institue (PUSA)

2. Jamia Hamdard

3. National University of Educational Planning & Administration (NUEPA)

4. Birla Institute of Technology (Mesra)

5. Christ University

6. Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth

7. Gokhale Institute of Politics & Economics (Pune)

8. SYMBIOSIS International University (Pune)

9. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research  (Mumbai)

10. Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Mumbai)

11. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham (Coimbatore)

12. Vellore Institute of Technology (Vellore) will no longer be able to use the word ‘University’ in their names.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *