IIM Bangalore’s 46th Convocation sees 624 Students Graduate in Virtual Mode

IIM Bangalore features among top B-schools in NIRF 2021

IIMB hosted its 46th Convocation on April 16 (Friday), 2021. The entire event was held, in the virtual model, in the presence of the Chairperson of the IIMB Board of Directors Dr. Devi Shetty, IIMB Director Professor Rishikesha T Krishnan, Dean Programmes Professor Abhay Ojha, Dean Faculty Professor Chetan Subramanian, Dean Administration Professor Rajendra K Bandi, Dean Alumni Relations and Development Professor K Kumar, Chairpersons of all the programs and faculty members. The event included the award of gold medals.

Your generation is more global, educated, tolerant, and technology savvy than perhaps any that has come before it. It is because of the kind of minds that exist at IIM Bangalore that I know that we will surprise the pessimists. This is your generation’s world to shape. I am eager to see the problems you will solve and the solutions you will create,

Dr. Arvind Krishna

Gold medalists

  • The awards include gold medals for Best All Round Performance, Best Academic Performance, First Rank, and Second Rank.
  • In the Post Graduate Program in Management (PGP) 2019-2021, Piyush Kabra received the gold medal for the first rank, Karan Kumar Agarwal for the second rank, and Samir Kaushik Shah for Best All Round Performance.
  • In the Executive Post Graduate Program in Management (EPGP) 2020-2021, Sumit More won the gold medal for first rank and Abhinav Goswami for Best All Round Performance.
  • In the Post Graduate Program in Enterprise Management (PGPEM) 2019-2021, the gold medal for the first rank went to Venkata Naga Swaroop Muvvala and Jagadish Revanna, while Gurunathan Subrahmanyan received it for Best All Round Performance.
  • In the Post Graduate Program in Public Policy and Management (PGPPM) 2020-21, Akta Jain B won the gold medal for Best Academic Performance.

Total Number of Students

A total of 624 students from various programs graduated this evening. The program-wise details are as follows. Doctoral Programme (Ph.D.): 22 students, Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGP): 435, Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management (EPGP): 72, Post Graduate Programme in Enterprise Management (PGPEM): 71, and Post Graduate Programme in Public Policy & Management (PGPPM): 24.

Curiosity is what will allow you to find problems that are worth solving. It will give you a new sense of what the word ‘discovery’ means, and will lead you down all sorts of interesting paths. Ultimately, it is your propensity to learn throughout your life—not your intellect, not your degree, not even your experience—that will determine your success. Being insatiably curious will give you the fuel you need to learn how to learn throughout your life. I can guarantee you that it will not only make you a better person, but also a much better business leader.

Dr. Krishna advised the graduating students to be curious and persistent.

”Citing examples of the innovations that went behind the invention of the light bulb, penicillin, microwave, radioactivity, X-rays, or even the Covid-19 vaccine, he pointed out that it is often the people with the most grit who end up making a difference.

Director’s Address

Professor Rishikesha T Krishnan, Director, IIM Bangalore, highlighted some achievements and accomplishments of the institute. He spoke about the new programs being offered: the Post Graduate Programme in Business Analytics leading to an MBA, and the Mahatma Gandhi National Fellowship which is supported by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Government of India.

He listed the awards won by the faculty for their research and publications. He spoke about some outstanding achievements of the students. He pointed out that the Class of 2021 has been recruited by reputed companies despite Covid-19 disruptions. He also listed some achievements of the school’s alumni and thanked donors for their generous support.

Distinguished Alumni Awards 2021

IIM Bangalore had also announced the names of the recipients of the IIMB Distinguished Alumni Awards for 2021. The awardees are Revathy Ashok, PGP 1980, Co-founder, Strategy Garage; J Laxman Rao, PGP 1982, Chairman and Managing Director, Mold-Tek Technologies Ltd. and Mold-Tek Packaging Ltd., and Sameer Nair, PGP 1996, Co-founder, Gram Oorja.

The awards, instituted in 2007 at IIMB, are given to alumni in recognition of their achievements of exceptional merit and excellence in their chosen field of endeavor — be it industry, management, entrepreneurship, research, academia, or social service. Each recipient of the prestigious award receives a citation and her/his name is engraved on the Wall of Fame at IIMB.

For More Such Articles, News Update, Events, and Many More Click Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *