Rajat Moona

Dr. Rajat Moona

Director, IIT Bhilai

Prof. Moona heads the Indian Institute of Technology, Bhilai(IIT Bhilai), which is one of the six new IITs established by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

Prof. Moona is also a Professor of Computer Science at IIT Kanpur and has supervised several postgraduate theses. He along with his students and colleagues has authored 10 patents, several research papers, and books.

He had been instrumental in defining applications such as smart card driving license, vehicle registration, e-passport, electronic toll collection, mobility card, etc. The research area of Prof. Rajat Moona spans over embedded computing, computer security, VLSI design, and Operating Systems.

In the past, Prof. Moona was the Director of the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) in the capacity of Director-General. Prof. Moona is the recipient of several awards and recognitions, including Indo-US Science and Technology Fellowship, Poonam and Prabhu Goel Chair Professorship, VASVIK Award for the year 2010, IESA Techno-visionary Award 2014, the fellowship of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences 2015 and National award of Election Commission of India 2016 for the best electoral practices.

Prof. Rajat Moona is an active member of the technical committee of the Election Commission of India for EVMs and has been instrumental in defining the EVMs and VVPAT. He has also been instrumental in defining national voter service portal and national electoral search for the voters.